McGettigan's Irish Pub

Jumeirah Lakes Towers, Cluster J
JLT Jumeirah Lake Towers
3.0 star rating 40 Reviews
$$ - Affordable
 +97143560000
  Work Hours: Sat - Fri (12:00 PM - 3:00 AM)

About this business

First opened in Dublin in 1964, McGettigan’s Irish Pub has now arrived in Dubai! Enjoy the craic in Dubai’s first and only Irish family owned and run Irish Pub! McGettigan's Irish Pub, Dubai's newest live music venue, is conveniently located in easy walking distance from Jumeirah Lakes Towers metro station, in the heart of Jumeirah Lakes Towers, just opposite Dubai Marina. McGettigan's was also the proud winner of the 2011 What's On Dubai Awards for "Best Pub Grub".

40 Reviews

Bench
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
12/06/2014 

I was here last December with my friends to celebrate his promotion. The place was really packed and busy. We waited for like 30 minutes at the bar to get finally our seats but it was ok. We didn't stay that long because we need to go to work early. We ordered also some snack and a couple of drinks. Their prices are not bad and the food is good.

The serving is a little bit slow but understandable because a lot of people were coming in and out. I wish we could have stayed longer because its a good place to stay. We met also some friends here and hang around for some time. I really like this place.. A place to go after work and it is close to my apartment.

$$ $$$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear Bench, Many thanks for reviewing us. I was happy to hear that you liked the food and I hope to see you again one day. All the best, Alan Murray, Pub Manager, McGettigan's JLT

15/06/2014 - Report


ossman
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
26/01/2014 

I've been to McGettigan's JTL couple of times with my colleagues. It's just perfect to sit outside these days and enjoy your drinks while waiting for your meals. In our recent visit, we were there to celebrate a birthday during lunch time and ordered Beef Burgers, Fish & Chips, Irish Stew and Wings. I must say that everything I have tried there was delicious and fresh.

Usually we do have lower expectations of the food whenever it's from a PUB or a Bar but McGettigan's is a unique case in this sense. Good polite servers, delicious food and huge pint of beers just makes it perfect Irish Pub. McGetting's certainly has achieved the place to visit again.

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear ossman, Thank you very much for your review! We're glad you like it here and that you rate our food & service highly. See you again soon! All the best, Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT

05/03/2014 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
14/11/2013 

I started loving this place weet weee the ambiance was so cool we went here for a lunch and try their lunch menu they have different menu for lunch and other menu for dinner i guess. We prefer to seat outside since the weather was not that hot. Their food was so huge for one person so definitely you will leave this place so full. You will not regret at all once you visit this place. What more if you will visit here during dinner time for sure you really enjoy each moment staying here. Recommendable place for hanging out...

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear phuloyheownnie, Thanks for your comments and the pictures! It's great to hear that you're enjoying your times here and like the food! See you again soon! All the best, Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT

17/11/2013 - Report


smeg
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
03/11/2013 

I love this place...yep...it's officially a great place to come and eat and relax with some mates and just enjoy some good times. We recently went there for a farewell lunch and sat outside as the weather was great. We all ordered a bit of a mix - Beef burgers, fish n chips and some chicken wraps. One thing that makes this place excellent value is the size of the meals. They're huge and make me miss the classic pub meals back home and abroad. As an Irish bar the menu is solid and there's a great range of meal types to choose from. Service is pretty good, they do get busy, actually when there is quality sport on, they get rammed but it's part of the great atmosphere of the place! I had the Fish n Chips which were huge and in hindsight I should have asked for "skinny" fries as the monster thick cut ones proved to be too much potato for my stomach. The fish was pretty good and everyone seemed to enjoy the meals overall. They also offer Emirates Airlines Platinum discounts so if you're in the airline sector don't forget to flash the card!

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear smeg, Thanks for your review! McGettigan's JLT loves you, too! See you again soon! All the best, Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT

04/11/2013 - Report


abs12345
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
24/09/2013 

I had a BLT in JLT last winter that was so delicious that I thought of it often and fondly, hoping to return to McGettigans to again enjoy that sandwich. That day was last Monday. Unfortunately, I learned that McGettigans only features BLT's at lunch and not at dinner. There were other dishes on the menu that contained the following items which constitute a proper BLT: Bacon-Lettuce-Tomato-Mayo-Bread. However, despite my sweet and repeated pleading, the waitress did not accommodate my BLT request, nor would she even at the very least ask the kitchen if they could assemble this sandwich for me. It was a flat-out no, with no further inquiry. Here's where I start lecturing on customer service. I was a waitress in high school. I was taught to serve people and do WHATEVER IT TAKES TO MAKE THEM HAPPY (short of anything completely ludicrous, of course). It's called going the extra mile. It's called working in the service industry. It's called creating a return base of customers. It's called CUSTOMER SERVICE. This is my primary complaint about Dubai. Not many service industry workers will go the extra mile to accommodate your requests, no matter how small. It wasn't as if I were asking for Beef Bourguignon. I just want my BLT, and maybe I want it at night. Sad face.

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear abs12345, Thank you very much for your comments. Although our menu did initially feature a BLT, it hasn't done so for over one year. As you know, our pub is often very busy and as such, we cannot always fulfil requests for dishes which are not on the menu. Next time you're here and fancy a BLT, please ask for me and I will certainly do my best to make it happen for you. All the best, Michael McBrearty Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT

01/10/2013 - Report


elle
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
03/08/2013 

Well I guess my review came too soon, last night was my worst experience ever especially since it's coming from a place that I have come to really appreciate their level of professionalism all that was destroyed in a matter of seconds when this really arrogant Indian door man lashed at me and my friend and too make it even more humiliating he bluntly told us that he doesn't like us anyway. Yeah way to go mate good luck with that attitude in life.
no hard feelings here just shame that I will be missing out on my favorite dinner place

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear elle, Thank you for your comments and sorry for the delay in getting back to you. We've reviewed the security logs for the night in question and would like to speak to you further re. this matter. We do not currently employ door staff from India, so we're keen to find out more. Please pop into the pub and ask for me (Iwas the manager on duty that night) or send us an email to contact@mcgettigans.ie. Thanks! Martin McHugh, Assistant Manager, McGettigan’s Irish Pub JLT

22/08/2013 - Report


elle
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
01/08/2013 

i have been here for like a million times and i have had a great time, friendly people except some weird customers (but what are you gonna do about that really), the manager is always very pleasant the staff super nice (except this particular one but i can avoid her)
some ranted about racism in this place and i was shocked i mean am black (an obvious victim of racism in most clubs and bars)the only time that i felt offended was when this bouncer sided with another bouncer coz they spoke the same language (all of us were black) when we were just in disagreement over some silly girly stuff that he shouldn't have been bothered with anyway.
the food is amazing (wish they delivered)
overall amazing place keep up the good job

$$ $$$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear elle, Thanks for your comments. It's great to hear that you're enjoying your times here and like the food! See you again soon! All the best, Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT

03/08/2013 - Report


FIGDXB
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
01/08/2013 

Am shocked to see negative comments on McG JLT, am glad i have not had that much of a share but normal nitty gritties that come in any club anyway.. I still anyhow would recommend the place, great music, good crowd, hang out place or chilling place with my peeps, Friendly Manager.. Keep Up the good work. See you soon!!!

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear FIGDXBs, Thanks for your comments. It's great to hear that you're enjoying McGettigan's! We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT

03/08/2013 - Report


nicjames
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
14/06/2013 

Just another Irish pub that is overpriced and if there is something special going on they don't accept any discount cards/vouchers. Like the outdoor area but inside is always full of smoke which is disgusting!

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear ncijames, Thanks for your comments. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our Pub in JLT. Please rest assured that our prices are in line with most other similar establishments in the city. You're right that, during special events & for promotions, we do not accept discount cards or vouchers - the reason for this is that such events are already discounted or offered at very special rates. All the best, Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT

03/08/2013 - Report


TRouss
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
11/02/2013 

SERIOUSLY? We are in 21st century!!! RACIST STAFF (didn't know they exist in 21st century) - disrespectful and unfriendly, worst service, and worse managerial skills, 1. Clients should be treated with full respect and the staff should be totally trained to do so 2. Managers should not be lying about country laws to just back up their arguments 3.if you are in Dubai, you respect Dubai and Arab culture and not treat people in condescending way or allow urselves to open pubs that do so. I.e. ur famous mcgettigans The story is really sad and m ashamed to say that such mentality exists in 21st century. Racism ??? Seriously??? Last thing I expected. It's a shame. Besides, bouncers should NEVER EVER treat people with disrespect and carelessness. I hope u can recruit people and put laws in place that do make sense!! I am really SHOCKED by how racist, impolite and uneducated mcgettigans staff are. We are in the 21st century. Know your employees and respect ur clientele!!!! (this is not to mention the rude and so unsmiley staff and service).

$ $$$$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear TRouss, We would like to sincerely apologize for the incident that occurred when you recently visited McGettigan’s JLT. Kindly refer to the email we have send you yesterday. In case you haven't received it, please let us know. Best regards, Lester M. Perera Security Manager

14/02/2013 - Report

Provocateur

Provocateur Hey TRouss, sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience. TBH I'm kinda shocked to see this negative review of McGettigans on my news feed since its my all time favorite pub in JLT and having been there with both friends and office colleagues, I always thought the service was friendly and the staff seem to be well trained and there's definitely consistency in the level of service every time I'm there, which leads me to ask if you can maybe elaborate more on what exactly happened? It SOUNDS to me that it was a dress code matter (Since you mentioned the bouncers and the arab country bit)... If so, then please do remember that national dress or Hijab/Abaya isn't allowed by law in all clubs and pubs in the country. I went with my Hijabi friend once to Hard Rock and even there, they didn't let us in because she wore hijab, it wasn't anything against her, its just the law. If any CID is there and sees that a business violated that law they could get shut down or be fined ginormous amounts of money (As per my colleague's knowledge which he just shared with me) PS: I'm Arab, and my friends are Pakistani and Indian and we got superb service every time (:

12/02/2013 - Report


Kitty2wp
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
11/11/2012 

I love this place - excellent food, music is great - and i love that i can smoke there and so do all my friends who go there. Drinking, smoking, eating, dancing - it all goes together so well.

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear Kitty2wp, Thanks for your review! It's grand to hear that you like it here and we hope to see you again soon! All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

13/11/2012 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
31/10/2012 

I love the atmosphere here, very good english pub-by feeling. The outdoor seating is cool, but wish they would open it up more. The place gets soooo smokey you can hardly breathe. The live music on the weekends really sets the mood, and my favorite thing on the menu are the fish n chips. :)

$$ $$$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear SweetFace26, Thank for your comments! It was great to hear that you like the live music we offer and, of course, our famous fish & chips. We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

11/11/2012 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
23/10/2012 

I felt I had to come back for another review after the nice comment I received from the management team. So, I decided to have lunch at McGettigan's today. Staff is extremely friendly as usual. I asked (Rhoy), what is their specialty for lunch and he suggested "pork bangers and mash". Hesitantly, I agreed. Having one bite and all I can think of is:"OMG"! This is soo good, I couldn't wait to go home to write about! the seating outside is nice, they got it open and the weather isn't bad at all. However, Wifi is only indoors. I might stay a little more and try their dinner menu too! ;) Tonight (Tuesday) is QUIZ night! :)))

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Hello again! Well, cheers for that! Thanks for coming back and it was great to see that you really enjoyed your lunch. Your comment re. wifi availability has been noted and we'll look into the possibility of providing a 'wireless beergarden' in the future. All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

25/10/2012 - Report

Ji G

Ji G Love the bangers and mash at McG!!

24/10/2012 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
17/10/2012 

An Irish pub is not normally my thang, but seeing as people from work were all going, I didn't want to be a poor sport. When I walked in at 8pm there was a quiz going on and the place was packed. I guess Tuesday is Quiz night? This was fun and it seemed like the entire venue was getting involved and this is great to see in Dubs. Now, let's talk about the service...The staff are not the most attentive and our waitress really looked like she would rather be elsewhere but after a few ciders all was well and she warmed up to us. Now for the food...First of all as Decker and Zman mentioned below, the smoke is pretty bad so eating in that is not a great experience. I chose the two greasiest items on the menu and was jel when I saw my friend's bangers and mash. What you should expect....an Irish pub.

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear CherryPie, Thank you for your comments. It looks like you enjoyed your visit & liked the food, though please accept our apologies for the service shortfalls you experienced. In regards to the smoke, we have already taken various steps to tackle the issue, however, it appears that we're not quite there yet. We are considering several other options in terms of smoke management and will be making a decision soon. We have, however, recently removed the tent in our beergarden, which gives our guests an open air area outside in case the inside gets too smoky. All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

18/10/2012 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
11/10/2012 

I don't know why I'm turned off by this place. I only pass by after a looong day at work, when I'm out of liquor at home. Although it's the best bar which is close to both my work and home. Thy have live sports, live music, quiz night, you name it they have it. It's a nice place for a steak and a beer on tap.

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear Outlier, Sorry, we can't help you there. We don't know why you're turned off by us either. We thank you, though, for saying something nice about us anyway and hope to see you again soon when you've run out of booze at home! All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

18/10/2012 - Report


Decker
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
23/09/2012 

Yep, gotta agree with ZMan here. Everything about this place is great, but the smoke is a big enough turn-off that I won't be going back until something is done about the situation. I had to shower when I got home, and I could still smell the remnants of smoke. Not to mention, I seriously considered burning my clothes. C'mon Mixer Mike, let's get that smoke under control for the sake of your business and that of our lungs...

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear Decker, Thank you for your comment. We have already taken various steps to tackle the smoke issue, however, it appears that we're not quite there yet. We are considering several other options in terms of smoke management and will be making a decision soon. We have, however, recently removed the tent in our beergarden, which gives our guests an open air area outside in case the inside gets too smoky. All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

07/10/2012 - Report


ZMan
 Dubai, UAE
McGettigan's Irish Pub
13/09/2012 

Ok here is the deal: I haven't been back to this place in awhile so I guess I forgot or it just has gotten significantly worse but the smokiness level in the place is out of control. I mean I don't mind a smokey bar but this place is like walking into an airport smoking section, and even they are probably less smokey. I stayed last night for 2 hours and when I walked out my skin stunk, mty hands smelled like I had been holding a cigarette for hours....how is that possible. If they would fix he smoke thing I would give this place a 5 star rating all day long. Great crowed last night (super busy) and they had an amazing guitarist covering everything from Michael Jackson to Mumford and Sons. I just don't get bars in Dubai, if they would just put smoke eaters in the ceiling then non smoking people would be loving these places...what to do.

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Dear ZMan, Thank you for your comment. We have already taken various steps to tackle the smoke issue, however, it appears that we're not quite there yet. We are considering several other options in terms of smoke management and will be making a decision soon. Oh, and Mike Ross thanks you for your kind words. All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

16/09/2012 - Report

ZMan

ZMan Thanks Michael, can't wait!

24/09/2012 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
16/08/2012 

Came here for some after work drinks before Ramadan for the first time with a colleague, the atmosphere is lovely and its simply a feel-good place to waste time with colleagues or friends and just chill and chat. Will deffinately go back :) Oh and the waiters are really friendly too. I had a silly moment after exiting the washroom where I got "lost" and couldn't find our table for some reason and the waiters were very sweet and funny about it. Lol.

$$ $$$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Hey there! Thanks for your review! We were glad to see that you enjoyed your visit and liked the atmosphere and the service. We hope to see you again very soon! All the best, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s JLT Team

17/08/2012 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
05/08/2012 

This is a place from home if you are missing those pub nights in London (even though its Irish)... worth a vsit if you are in the area and need a pint in Dubai

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Hi! Cheers for your comment! We're happy to see that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s Irish Pub Team

09/08/2012 - Report


McGettigan's Irish Pub
28/07/2012 

In my opinion the best pub in Dubai. Always a great atmosphere, very warm and friendly. They used to have an Irish singer/guitarist on a Wednesday which was awesome and we often go to the Quiz Nights on a Tuesday. The Quiz is so much fun, questions aren't too hard and there are always a few prizes to be won. Food is also very good. Only negative comment is that it's very smokey inside, I always leave stinking of smoke! but until Dubai bans smoking in all inside venues like most of Europe, that won't change. They have an outside garden/terrace area in the winter which adds another element to what is the best Irish pub in town!

$$$ $$
McGettigan's Irish Pub

McGettigan's Irish Pub (Business Owner): Hi! Cheers for your comment! We're happy to see that you rate us highly and hope to see you again soon. Our quiz nights are taking a Ramadan break, but will be back after Eid. Regards, Michael “Mixer” Dooley, Manager, & the McGettigan’s Irish Pub Team

09/08/2012 - Report


1 - 20 of 40
added this photo

 



Popular Dubai Nightlife

10 Reviews
6 Reviews
2 Reviews
see more

Similar Nightlife

1 Review
see more